Google Translate expands offline language options

Malagasy, Sindhi, and Zulu are part of the many new available languages

Google Translate has 33 new languages that can be used offline.

According to a Google blog post, users can download the languages beforehand and translate text when they don’t have an internet connection.

The new languages include:

  • Basque
  • Cebuano
  • Chichewa
  • Corsican
  • Frisian
  • Hausa
  • Hawaiian
  • Hmong
  • Igbo
  • Javanese
  • Khmer
  • Kinyarwanda
  • Kurdish
  • Lao
  • Latin
  • Luxembourgish
  • Malagasy
  • Maori
  • Myanmar (Burmese)
  • Oriya / Odia
  • Samoan
  • Scots Gaelic
  • Sesotho
  • Shona
  • Sindhi
  • Sundanese
  • Tatar
  • Turkmen
  • Uyghur
  • Xhosa
  • Yiddish
  • Yoruba
  • Zulu

Once you’ve updated the app, you can access offline languages by selecting the languages and tapping the download button.

Source: Google


  • Nida Zafar

    Nida is a graduate of the joint journalism program at the University of Toronto and Centennial College. She enjoys exploring new Apple products and catching the latest releases on Netflix.